You Can’t Hide: 30 Tales by Blair Daniels

You Can’t Hide: 30 Tales by Blair Daniels

by Blair Daniels

I really enjoyed this compilation of stories. I Found a Note I Don’t remember writing had a crazy twist, and I thought it was a great story to start out the collection with because it pulled me into the book and made me want to read more. High Beams was chilling to the max, and you could feel the dread dripping from the pages. Attention Shoppers was bizarre, but in a good way that leaves you confused and breathless. Like… what just happened? After My Best Friend Died was sweet and sad. Wocket in My Pocket was a terrifying take on childhood whimsy reminiscent of a Dr. Seuss gone so very wrong. The Vending Machine was scary but satisfying because not all paranormal happenings are necessarily bad. Wind Phone was another awesome twist. Christmas Tree Shopping opens up the world to all new nefarious schemes. The Sound Only My Wife Can Hear is domestic terror, and, as a person who lives in an apartment, my worst nightmare. My Grandma is Acting Odd was another story that is both chilling and sweet. The Uncanny Valley is based on the very same theory, and I like that the author explored some of the possibilities behind the legend. I wish Footprints in the Snow was a full-length book! And The Scariest Board Game, as it would be cool to have more information about the game and the lifelong ramifications of playing with something you don’t fully understand. All in all, I highly recommend this collection.

Leave a Comment